A sentence is worth a thousand words

“A great man is a sentence.”

These were the words uttered by Clare Boothe Luce to President John F. Kennedy in 1962. In his book “A Whole New Mind”, Daniel Pink asks two primary questions that cover the same agenda as Luce. What’s my sentence? Am I better than I was yesterday?

It’s difficult to evaluate yourself in a single string of thoughts compacted into a sentence. But if you know yourself well enough, you know what is important to you and what makes you, you.

My sentence: A young adult hungry to make a tangible difference in the world while chasing his passions.

Let’s break that down.

Being a 20-year old at a Jesuit University like Creighton has given me an incredible opportunity to explore myself in a period of self-discovery. In just my short year in a half at Creighton, I have learned so much about my soul, body and mind.

mackinac-bridge-from-the-car-2-1224127
Photo Courtesy of Cece Chen, http://www.freeimages.com/photo/mackinac-bridge-from-the-car-2-1224127

I feel like this sentence fully encapsulates the person I am and the person I am becoming. I am determined to use my gifts and talents in two ways in my career: to find a job that I love in an industry I’m passionate about, and to make a positive impact in my community.

 

The ever-connected world of social media gives me an incredible opportunity to build a personal brand that will help me achieve these goals. It is easier now, more than ever before, to get your name and your brand out there by using social media effectively.

One thing, that remains the same in the media, PR, marketing, etc. is that people can recognize two things: integrity and quality. These are perhaps the two most important things when building a personal brand. If you’re not honest and trustworthy, people are not going to want to work with or associate with you. And if you don’t do a thorough and quality job, you’re not going to have favorable reviews from your boss and your peers.

While I certainly have a long way in discovering who I am, this exercise is definitely helpful way to step back and do some self evaluating.

Leave a Reply

